Selectors pick Sanju Samson, Karn Sharma for ODI, T20 series

The Indian team for the 5 ODIs and a lone T20I against England has been announced. Yuvraj Singh has been dropped from the T20I squad while Sanju Samson, Karn Sharma and Dhawal Kulkarni have received a call-up to the national squad after impressive performances with the India ‘A’ team in Australia.

Samson scored two fifties and an unbeaten 49 recently in the quadrangular series Down Under. Karn Sharma starred with an all-round performance against South Africa ‘A’ but has been incredibly consistent in the Indian Premier League (IPL) for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH).

Cheteshwar Pujara, who was a part of the squad in both the Asia Cup and the tour of Bangladesh, has been dropped from the team. Suresh Raina, who was dropped for the Asia Cup but led the team in Bangladesh, holds on to his spot.

“Only Amit Mishra had been ruled out of selection since he is undergoing treatment and rehab following a back injury. Considering the World Cup, the management as well as the selectors have put more emphasis on selecting some of the youngsters like Sanju Samson, Mohit Sharma, Stuart Binny and Karn Sharma,” Sanjay Patel, BCCI secretary, was quoted as saying.

Squad: MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Stuart Binny, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Mohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Umesh Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Sanju Samson, Karn Sharma

Leave a Comment