Kutty Sranku and Pazhassi Raja hog the limelight

NEW DELHI: Two Malayalam films Kutty Sranku and Pazhassi Raja hogged the limelight when the 57th National Film Awards were announced here Wednesday. Malayalam films have altogether obtained 13 awards including feature and non-feature films.

Shaji N Karun’s Kutty Sranku, with Mammootty in the lead, bagged four awards including the Suvarna Kamalam for best film.

The other awards bagged by Kutty Sranku are for best screenplay by P F Mathews and Harikrishnan, best cinematographer Anjali Shukla and best costume designer Jayakumar.

Pazhassi Raja bagged four awards including the award for the best Malayalam film.

The other awards obtained are best sound editor Resul Pookutty, best background music Ilayaraja and a special jury award for editing by Sreekar Prasad.

A special jury award will be given to Hasna, who acted in Geetu Mohandas’ short film Kelkkunundo. Keshu directed by Sivan is the best children’s film. Deepu S Unni has bagged the award for the best cameraman in the non-feature section.

Amitabh Bachchan and Ananya Chatterjee bagged the best actor awards for their outstanding performances in Paa and Aabo Hawa.

“Paa”, was also named the best Hindi film, besides winning recognitions in the best supporting actress category (Arundhuti Nag) and best make-up (Christein Tinsley and Dominie Till).

3 Idiots has bagged awards for best popular film, best director and best producer. Farooq Sheikh has been chosen as the best supporting actor for Lahore and Arundhati Nag is the best supporting actress for Paa.

Rituparno Ghosh and Rajkumar Hirani shared the award for the best director for their films Abohoman and 3 Idiots.

The best children’s film award was shared by “Putaani Party” in Kannada and “Keshu” in Malayalam. Jeeva and Anba Karaus share the best child actor award.

Other Awards

Best lyrics award goes to Swanand Kirkere for ‘Behti hawa sa’ in ‘3 Idiots’.

Best music director award goes to Amit Trivedi for ‘Dev-D’.

Best male playback singer award goes to Rupam Islam for ‘Mahanagar’.

Best female playback singer award goes to Nilanjana Sarkar for ‘Houseful’.

Best film award on social issues: ‘Well Done Abba’.

Indira Gandhi award for best debut director: Sanjay Singh Puran for ‘Lahore’.

Nargis Dutt award for film on national integration: ‘Delhi 6’.

Leave a Comment